Here’s something you might not know about me… I LOVE Christmas. Like big time, crazy, start planning gifts around about now. It’s not what you spend, but the thoughtfulness, and the personal touch of a gift that warms the cockles of my heartstrings. I literally have a notes section on my phone, and record stuff that people like, suggest or ideas I have for gifts. You are never safe from my Christmas planning… And because I’m the thrifty snake, I still make use of lay-by, which means I can drip feed the more extravagant of my gifting. I’m not sure why I’m like this, but I’d hazard a guess it’s from too much TV in my dysfunctional childhood. I craved order, tradition and just generally joy – and Christmas is the time of most joy, most giving, thoughtful gestures to others. Time to think about what, and who is important.

I wanted to share with you one of the things I did this Christmas for 2 very special lads. These guys are funny, smart and   2 of the absolute lights of my life. For a 12 and 14 year old they have compassion, empathy and wisdom well beyond their years – and are also the funniest little clowns in the land, like really funny – one of them even honks when he laughs. Frankly, I’m endeavouring to have either of them as a son in law, but thats a whole different blog….

Anyway, being tween/teen boys they’re kind of hard to get gifts for – not because they’re fussy. Frankly, you could give them a bag of chips or gum and they’d be grateful you thought of them, but because of my belief that the gift should befit the receiver. Anyway, here’s what I did… Playing on their personality types and nicknames, I made these. A really thoughtful, not overly expensive – but very personal Christmas gift made with a whole lotta love…photo

